Tell me again why I’m doing this myself.

June 23, 2008 at 8:36 am 2 comments

I get goosebumps just thinking about it. This is by far the worst part of any home improvement project for me. We’re at the part of the kitchen/home facelift project where wall prep needs to happen. All the walls in the kitchen need to be painted before the cabinets can go in, and since the kitchen connects to the living room, it gets the facelift too. Now, in perfect world (oh, how I’d love to live in perfect world!), painting these rooms would be a quick 1/2 day project. Unfortunately, though, the walls weren’t done well the first time around and were covered with bumps of poorly sanded joint compound near the baseboard and in the corners. Add 7 years of kid traffic and the ugly built-up edges of goop where the old cabinets were, and you have a weekend spent glopping compound on the walls and sore shoulders from manning the wall sanders. And dust. Lots of dust.

Now, if you know me well, you know I have an aversion to chalk. As in, can’t touch it, watch it, hear it, givesmegoosebumpstoevenwritethis, aversion. (If you don’t know me well, you just learned something new! Congratulations! 😉 ) Standing ankle-deep in drywall dust, hearing the scratch of the sanding screen gives me the same heebie-jeebies as watching my 3rd grade teacher do math problems before recess. No amount of time with the shop-vac gets it all. I’ve been doing this for days. Countless hours in my own private dusty nightmare.

But the light at the end of the drywall tunnel is getting brighter. I should have all the last little touch-ups sanded and the walls washed down by lunch. Ah, the relief that will follow!

eta: It appears wordpress is once again having issues with uploading images.  There was supposed to be a lovely layout right here showcasing my daughter’s sparkling personality.  I’ll have it up as soon as I can!

Until next time…
C.

Entry filed under: crafts, home, projects. Tags: , , , .

Instead of blogging… As Promised…

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. nikimeiners  |  June 23, 2008 at 6:01 pm

    chalk, bling, chalk bling . ha ha ha

    Reply
  • 2. Kim  |  June 28, 2008 at 10:52 am

    Oh, my. I feel for you Carla. I HATE home improvement, but one day you will be so happy with the results!

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get Your Sizzix Inspiration Here!


[ back ] [ Sizzix ] [ forward ]

Copyright

Copyright 2005-2010, by Carla Schauer. All rights reserved.

All photos and content on this blog are the property of Carla Schauer unless otherwise noted. Please do not use any content or photos found on this site without my written permission. Thank you!

Categories

Archives

Because it’s the law

Material disclosure: As an independent craft designer, I often receive product at reduced or no cost for use in my work. A list of companies with whom I have current or past relationships is listed on my "About Me" page. I am not compensated monetarily for posting about any products mentioned on this blog. Please feel free to contact me with any questions pertaining to my relationship with manufacturers or products used in posted projects.