Let there be light!

July 12, 2008 at 11:23 am 3 comments

My, what a little photoshopping can do!   As I was cruising blogs yesterday, (After I installed a lovely new wireless keyboard. Yesterday’s coffee spill incapacitated most of the keys on the old one.) I came across Jessica Sprague’s Photoshop Friday post about editing photos.   I’m pretty familiar with editing my photos in PSE, since they usually need a bit of tweaking before I use them on layouts.    However, my usual technique looks something like this: Open, Defog, Levels, Undo, Levels, Adjust Contrast, Undo, Re-adjust Contrast, Adjust Saturation, Adjust Saturation, Crop, Undo, Crop, Undo, Bang Head On Desk, Crop, Unsharp Mask, Save.

Definitely a rather unwieldy process, especially if I need some additional steps along the way.    So, yesterday I decided to try the featured techniques.    Anything that cuts down photo processing time is worth trying in my book!   I chose a photo of Kid #3, taken a couple years ago.

Here’s the Out of Camera, untweaked photo:

And here’s the Photoshopped Version:

I’ll definitely be using this method again. It took a fraction of the time. I used this photo on a layout I did last year. I’ll be replacing the photo I printed (using my regular editing method) with this one. I love how it “pops”. And who could resist a technique dubbed “ShaZAM”?

Have a great weekend!

Until next time…
C.

Entry filed under: day to day. Tags: , , .

Fun Fact Friday! Tired and energized. Is it possible?

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. nikimeiners  |  July 13, 2008 at 8:37 pm

    Shazam!!!! I might have to try it.

    Reply
  • 2. Kim  |  July 20, 2008 at 1:47 pm

    Carla, I don’t see the first picture, but I’m SURE you were brilliant! So what did you DO to it?

    Reply
  • 3. carla21  |  July 22, 2008 at 9:30 am

    Kim, I followed Jessica’s ShaZAM technique step by step. You can find it on her blog. I linked it. Super easy!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get Your Sizzix Inspiration Here!


[ back ] [ Sizzix ] [ forward ]

Copyright

Copyright 2005-2010, by Carla Schauer. All rights reserved.

All photos and content on this blog are the property of Carla Schauer unless otherwise noted. Please do not use any content or photos found on this site without my written permission. Thank you!

Follow me on Twitter!

Categories

Archives

Because it’s the law

Material disclosure: As an independent craft designer, I often receive product at reduced or no cost for use in my work. A list of companies with whom I have current or past relationships is listed on my "About Me" page. I am not compensated monetarily for posting about any products mentioned on this blog. Please feel free to contact me with any questions pertaining to my relationship with manufacturers or products used in posted projects.